The Team

Ben Rawlence

Chief Executive

Award winning writer, activist, former speech writer to Charles Kennedy and co-founder.

Dr. Libby Pearson

Chief Operating Officer

Libby was a former Director of Student Experience and Academic Quality at Navitas,  where she designed and built the student experience of 10 European pathway colleges.

Emma Bald

Director of Communications

Former project director and health sector lead at Central Office of Information and marketing consultant for broad range of businesses. 

Amanda Page

Community Training Coordinator

Founder of Community Interest Company, Gap Learning, that delivered a programme of courses for all ages to over 1000 learners and won an ‘Excellence Award’ from Cambridgeshire County Council. 

Louise Grove-White

Development Officer

Experienced business development and project manager.  Previously worked for Prince’s Trust Cymru, National Museum of Wales and ran the Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition

Chris Blake


Director of Green Valleys CIC renewable energy company and energy entrepreneur.

Cllr. Emily Durrant


Former activist, participatory research and corporate responsibility consultant and now Wales’ only Green Party County Councilor. Chair of the Policy Forum at Brecon Beacons National Park Authority.

Mari Fforde


Film maker, arts consultant, Governor of Clyro Primary School and Heritage Learning Officer at Hay Castle.

David Isaac


Chair of the Equality and Human Rights Commission, former chair of Stonewall and many other charities.

Dr. Bill Newton Smith


Philosopher of science and for 20 years head of George Soros’s higher education programme, establishing over 20 universities around the world.

Elizabeth Passey


Chairman of the Wye & Usk Foundation, Convener of Court (Chair) of the University of Glasgow, formerly a Managing Director of Morgan Stanley and of Investec Asset Management, and hailing from a corn merchant family on the Welsh borders.

Prof. Owen Sheers


Award winning writer, professor of creativity at Swansea University and co-founder.

Dame Rosie Boycott

Advisory Council

Writer, broadcaster and food and farming specialist.

Jane Davidson

Advisory Council

Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Wales, Trinity St David and former Minister of Education, Welsh Government.

Prof David Helfand

Advisory Council

Chair, Astrophysics, Columbia University and President Emeritus, Quest University, Canada.

Sophie Howe

Advisory Council

Well-Being and Future Generations Commissioner for Wales.

Lord Chris Smith

Advisory Council

Master of Pembroke College Cambridge, former Culture Secretary and former Chairman of the Environment Agency.

Prof. Brigid Hogan

Advisory Council

Chair of Cell Biology, Duke University, USA.

Peter T. Howe

Advisory Council

Principal of UWC Atlantic College

Prof Alan Lovell

Advisory Council

Former Dean, University of Glamorgan, Business School.

Mark Lynas

Advisory Council

Author, journalist and environmental activist.

Peter Florence

Advisory Council

Director, Hay Festival.

Robert Macfarlane

Advisory Council

Writer and academic.

Nigel Gervis

Advisory Council

Director, Ty Mawr Lime Ltd.

Andrew Nairne OBE

Advisory Council

Director of Kettles Yard gallery, Cambridge and former Executive Director, Arts, for Arts Council England.

Dr. Havard Prosser

Advisory Council

Former Chief Environmental Science Adviser, Welsh Government 2005-2010.

Sir Tim Smit

Advisory Council

Entrepreneur and founder of the Eden Project.

Edmund de Waal

Advisory Council

Writer and artist.

Hugh Martineau

Advisory Council

Sustainable Agriculture Consultant for Ricardo Energy & Environment.